ECR Party

AECR congratulating Australian Liberal Party

AECR congratulates its regional partner in Australia, the Liberal Party, on its great electoral success.

Today, Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull declared victory in the federal election, and the opposition Labor Party conceded defeat.

His conservative Liberal-National coalition won 76 seats in the 150-seat lower house, with five seats still in doubt. The Labour Party won about 67 seats (69 predicted).

At a news conference in Sydney, Turnbull said:

We have won the election. […] We have gone through this election with fiercely fought arguments, issues of policy, issues of principle and we have done so peacefully and it’s something we should celebrate.

The Liberal–National coalition is a political alliance of centre-right parties in Australia and was founded in 1923. The coalition includes the Liberal Party (formerly known as the United Australia Party) and the National Party of Australia. You will find the official election results here.