ECR Party

John Howard to receive Edmund Burke Award

Tomorrow, the Edmund Burke Award will go to the Honourable John Howard, in recognition of a lifetime’s achievement.

ACRE will present the Edmund Burke Award to the Honourable John Howard at the National Gallery in London on Tuesday, 1 November 2016.

John Howard served as the 25th Prime Minister of Australia from 1996 to 2007. He transformed Australia permanently through his outstanding political leadership, consequently presiding over a rate of economic growth matched only at the height of Australia’s gold rush period.

The laudation will be held by Dr Jesse Norman MP, the UK Minister for Industry and Energy at the Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. His book Edmund Burke: Politician, Philosopher, Prophet (2013) was widely acclaimed, and listed for the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Political Book Awards and the George Orwell Prize.

ACRE Secretary-General Daniel Hannan MEP said:

John Howard is, by most definitions, the most successful conservative politician of our era. […] Practical, understated, amiable, courteous, brave, he is the ultimate exemplar of what a principled conservative can achieve. The Edmund Burke Award could have no worthier recipient.

Each year, ACRE presents the Edmund Burke Award to an outstanding champion of conservative values. Last year, Senator Jim DeMint, President of Heritage Foundation and well-known advocate for limited government and the Trans-Atlantic alliance, was the Edmund Burke Award’s first winner.