ECR Party

National Alliance in Latvian government

AECR member National Alliance remains part of the Latvian government. Last week a new Latvian government was approved with 60 coalition votes to 32 opposition votes. The National Alliance, the Union of Greens and Farmers and the Unity party form this new government.

The government includes three ministers of National Alliance: Justice Minister Dzintars Rasnacs, Culture Minister Dace Melbarde, and Environmental Protection and Regional Development Minister Kaspars Gerhards. Maris Kucinskis, leader of the Union of Greens and Farmers, is the new Prime Minister of Latvia.

AECR president Jan Zahradil is enthusiastic:

On behalf of AECR and on my own behalf, I would like to congratulate our member National Alliance on the formation of a new Latvian government. I wish them every success with their newly assumed responsibilities.

Political parties in Latvia have been negotiating the formation of a new government since end of last year. The former coalition leader Laimdota Straujuma (Unity) resigned in December 2015 following an internal crisis.