ECR Party

UK Referendum: British Conservatives reaffirm their AECR membership


In yesterday’s referendum, about 52 per cent of the British people voted to leave the European Union. The successful Vote Leave campaign was supported by many influential Conservative politicians, including Daniel Hannan MEP, who were able to persuade voters that the benefits of exit outweigh the risks of remaining.

The precise nature of the new relationship between the UK and the EU is yet to be defined and may take years to negotiate. Whatever the outcome of these negotiations, since the EU membership is not a prerequisite for AECR membership, the status of the UK Conservative Party as a full member of the Alliance will not be effected.

Through the AECR and the ECR Group, the British Conservatives will continue to fight for a Europe of independent nations, working together for mutual gain, while each retains their identity and integrity. Furthermore, they will remain committed to other members of the Alliance in furthering political cooperation and friendship.

This vote should be seen as a final warning to the European elites in Brussels, that sovereign nations will not accept further political integration towards a European Super-State.

AECR represents 25 member parties from 20 European countries and therefore did not take an official position during the UK Referendum and did not campaign for either side.



Notes to editors

1. The Alliance of European Conservatives and Reformists (AECR) is a pan-European political party.

2. Since 2009 the British Conservative Party has formed an electoral alliance with the Ulster Unionist Party from Northern Ireland. In the 2015 general election, the Conservative Party won a majority of seats in the House of Commons of the United Kingdom and formed a single-party government.

3. The UK EU membership referendum took place in the UK and Gibraltar on 23 June 2016.

4. The AECR adopted the Reykjavík Declaration at its Council Meeting in March 2014. This declaration defines the principles that underpin the AECR.

Press Officer to contact: Steffen Kudella on +32 470 371 910 or steffen.kudella@aecr.eu

The AECR brings together parties committed to individual liberty, national sovereignty, parliamentary democracy, the rule of law, private property, low taxes, sound money, free trade, open competition, and the devolution of power.

For more information on the AECR, visit our website: www.aecr.eu